2020 Northwest Washington Design Awards

Join us as we celebrate the best architectural designs available from the AIA members in Whatcom, Skagit, Island, and San Juan Counties.

AIA Northwest Washington’s Steering Committee invites you to share your most dynamic, new work!

Join us as we celebrate the best architectural designs available from the AIA members in Whatcom, Skagit, Island, and San Juan Counties for the Northwest Washington Design Awards. These projects represent the finest standards in sustainability, innovation, building performance, and overall integration with client and surrounding community. The awards presentation will follow the keynote speaker presentation from Karen Braitmayer FAIA, a world-renowned accessibility expert and 2019 Whitney M Young, Jr. Award winner.


Call for Submissions opens: August 3, 2020
Submission Deadline: September 3, 2020 at 5pm PDT

We invite you to submit to AIA Northwest Washington’s 2020 Design Awards. The intent of the Design Awards is to encourage excellence in architectural design and planning and to provide an avenue through which architects may gain recognition by their peers and the public. The ultimate goal is to raise the standards of architectural design excellence by both the architectural community and the public. We encourage you to join the conversation and tell your design story.

Submission deadline: September 3 at 5:00pm PDT. Finalize and complete payment before this deadline.

Please submit for the following categories:

  • Residential
  • Commercial
  • Unbuilt Project

Submission Fee: $150 for first project submitted, $100 for each additional project. (If submitting multiple projects, submit each project separately.)

Complete this application and upload the four (4) described documents to the below link.
**This application sheet details all submission requirements, and includes a form that you will submit to the below link.


Click here to submit

**At the discretion of the AIA NWW Design Awards Committee, late submissions may be accepted after 5:00pm PDT on September 3, and a late submission fee will be applied. No fees will be refunded for submissions that are disqualified or incomplete.


The Northwest Washington Design Awards is a marquee program, drawing over 100 attendees and featuring an awards presentation and panel discussion, featuring the awards jury. Full details on the virtual program can be found here. This program provides an essential occasion for the San Juan, Skagit, Island, and Whatcom county architecture community to celebrate its progress and growth within itself, and in conversation with the community at-large.

Full registration details and link forthcoming.



Questions about Submitting? Contact AIA Northwest Washington Coordinator, Karen Bacon.

Questions about attending the Virtual Event? Contact AIA Seattle Member Engagement Manager, Connor Descheemaker.

Sponsorship Questions? Contact AIA Northwest Washington Steering Committee chair, Dave Christensen.


Names and logos forthcoming.